top of page
  • Writer's picturedillwsimm

Mom Mom’s Zucchini Bread


It's almost ironic how one of the biggest joys in life can come in the form of a small note pad paper with an ingredient list printed on the back. Having a grandmothers (or grandfathers) recipe passed down to you is one of those small joys of life. The only “problem” with old recipes is that they can be very veag, or have ingredients that might be foren now, or may appear under a new name at the grocery store. Recently I asked my grandfather if I could have the recipe for my Mom Mom’s Zucchini bread. Funny thing is, i'm pretty sure my aunt, and great grandmother used the same recipe, because there zucchini breads were identical; moist, dense crumb, prominent cinnamon taste that linger on the back of the pallet. FULL DISCLOSURE, I might be very biaste to this recipe when I call it the BEST zucchini bread I’ve ever had; given I grew up eating it whenever the zucchinis in my grandfather's garden were available. When my grandfather handed me the ingredient list for this recipe I had to memorize the method by word of mouth. I guess when you've been making the same recipe for 3 generations, you don't need to read the recipe too much. So let the record show that I Dylan Simmons, have given this recipe the blessing of written word. Zucchini Bread YIELD: 2 Loaves TIME TOTAL: 1 hr. 10 mins. Temp: 350F Ingredients: 2 cups (8 1/2 ounces) all purpose flour ½ teaspoons baking powder 1 teaspoons baking soda 1 teaspoon salt 1 tablespoon cinnamon 2 eggs 2 cups (14 ounces) sugar 1 cup (7.8 ounces ) vegetable oil 2 teaspoons vanilla  2 cups, packed (10 ounces) of finely shredded zucchini, well drained 2 cups (8 ounces) roughly chopped walnuts Method: 1 Preheat oven to 350F, grease and flour two aluminum loaf pans (ceramic pan will bake longer) In a large bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and set aside.

2. Cut the zucchini in half and remove the seeds. Finely shred the zucchini, and remove excess liquid by pressing the shredded zucchini in between two clean side towels, or by pressing, and draining It in a colander. 3. In a large bowl whisk together eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla. Add the finely grated zucchini. Added flour mixture, and fold in, in 1/3rds. When batter is completely combined, fold in chopped walnuts. 4. Equally distribute the batter into 2 greased, and flour loaf tins, and bake for 45 mins. - 1 hour. Let cool, cut and serve.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page